Desktop View

Published: 12th November 2014 Written by Poker News, WSOP
Updated: 2nd December 2023

2014 wsop main event championThe 2014 WSOP Main Event Champion has been crowned, Martin Jacobson Swedish poker pro celebrates his victory today as he is presented with a WSOP bracelet and $10 million for first place prize.

Jacobson was dominating the field of players as a chip leader from the first day of the World Series of Poker Main Event. He was the 2nd shortest stack when players returned for the final table on November 10th.

Although Jorryt Van Hoof was the chip leader for most of the 2014 WSOP Main Event final table, he was the first of the final three players to get sent to the rail.

Martin Jacobson was up against Felix Stephensen in an hour long heads-up battle in which he managed to beat his Norwegian opponent.

2014 WSOP Main Event Champion

The final three players of the 2014 World Series of Poker Main Event were all European poker players but at the end of the day Sweden took home the gold for the first time.

The final hand of the tournament Martin Jacobson held a rather relevant hand with pocket tens which turned into a set of the flop. The irony is that the 2014 WSOP was celebrating their tenth year at the Rio Casino and had offered a $10 million first place prize as part of the celebration.

“This is what I played for, this is all the mattered to me,”  commented Martin Jacobson after receiving his bracelet and title as the 2014 WSOP Main Event Champion.

“I played close to perfect, maybe, I don’t think there’s anything such as a perfect tournament, since you will always make some errors here or there. But I eliminated most of my mistakes, and played pretty well overall.”

The 2014 WSOP Main Event Champion is just 27 years old and is a Swedish born poker pro who has since relocated to London.

2014 WSOP Main Event Final Table Results

  1. Martin Jacobson – $10,000,000
  2. Felix Stephensen – $5,147,911
  3. Jorryt van Hoof – $3,807,753
  4. William Tonking – $2,849,763
  5. Billy Pappaconstantinou – $2,143,794
  6. Andoni Larrabe – $1,622,471
  7. Dan Sindelar – $1,236,084
  8. Bruno Politano – $947,172
  9. Mark Newhouse – $730,725

Another crazy incident of defying odds on the Final table was Mark Newhouse’s story, the first back-to-back November Nine finalist.

Newhouse returned to the final table with an average chip stack but was the first player to be eliminated. His ninth place finish in two consecutive years defies all odds and the chances of that happening is something like 42 million to 1.