Desktop View

Published: 23rd July 2017 Written by WSOP, WSOP 2017
Updated: 2nd December 2023

2017 world series of poker main event winner2017 World Series of Poker Main Event winner Scott Blumstein won more than eight million dollars and a WSOP Main Event bracelet for his first place finish.

The 2017 WSOP Main Event had a field of 7,221 players entering the $10,000 buy-in event at the Rio Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Blumstein won the event after defeating runner-up Dan Ott in the head-up battle for the title, bracelet and first place cash of $8,150,000.

Scott Blumstein, an online grinder from New Jersey now holds the title of 2017 WSOP Main Event champion.

2017 World Series of Poker Main Event Winner

The third biggest playing field in the history of the World Series of Poker Main Event haws been won by USA player Scott Blumstein who cashed $8,150,000 for his first place prize.

Buy-in: $10,000
Prize pool: $67,877,400
Entries: 7,221 players

2017 WSOP Main Event Results & Payout

  1. Scott Blumstein (USA) – $8,150,000
  2. Dan Ott (USA) – $4,700,000
  3. Benjamin Pollak (France) – $3,500,000
  4. John Hesp (UK) – $2,600,000
  5. Antoine Saout (France) – $2,000,000
  6. Bryan Piccioli (USA) – $1,675,000
  7. Damian Salas (Argentina) – $1,425,000
  8. Jack Sinclair (UK) – $1,200,000
  9. Ben Lamb (USA) – $1,000,000

Blumstein defeated Dan Ott in the heads-up stages of the 2017 World Series of Poker Main Event final table.

“I’m still in shock. I thought I would get even more emotional that what I got in real time but it’s just the best feeling, I can’t even put it into words. I’m really happy with how I played tonight, I’m lucky enough to have good resources and hit up a buddy of mine who is really good at heads-up and three-handed poker. We went over what I should do and I was hoping to execute. I think tonight went really well.” – Scott Blumstein

See the complete list of 2017 World Series of Poker winners here.


888Poker Download – official sponsors of the World Series of Poker 2017 – PokerStars VS 888 Poker

2017 WSOP Player of the Year

So far the current points standings of the 2017 WSOP player of the Year leaderboard are as follows:

  1. Chris Ferguson – 898.46 points
  2. Ryan Hughes – 876.35 points
  3. John Monnette – 865.21 points
  4. John Racener – 853.16 points
  5. Ray Henson – 768.49 points
  6. Ben Yu – 766.49 points
  7. Alex Foxen – 754.36 points
  8. Daniel Negreanu – 717.76 points
  9. Dario Sammartino – 710.96 points
  10. Kenny Hallaert – 686.81 points

The 2017 WSOP leaderboard runs until the WSOPE has completed as the points earned in the Europe series will also be counted on the leaderboard.