Desktop View

Published: 17th March 2010 Written by Poker News
Updated: 6th December 2023

wsop tournament of championsThe World Series of Poker have decided to continue the WSOP Tournament of Champions event, which is possibly the biggest freeroll tournament ever with a million dollar prize pool. Only 27 players will be invited to play this event, fans can vote for their favorite WSOP bracelet winner to participate in this all stars event.

20 players will be selected from the votes received from fans, 5 players who have won the Tournament of Champions throughout the years and the winners of the WSOP & WSOPE main event for the previous year will also be invited including two wild card players.

The Tournament of Champions will be an entertaining event with top players from the past returning to relive their dream, the tournament will be televised on ESPN on the 3rd August 2010

World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions

The Tournament of Champions event has returned to this years World Series of Poker, the last time the event took place was in 2006. The voting has just begun to determine the 20 players who will get their seats to this years event. Voters can choose their favorite past WSOP bracelet winners,there are 521 bracelet winners to date.

All previous Tournament of Champions winners will also be invited to play the event.

WSOP TOC past winners
2004 – Annie Duke
2005 – Mike Matusow
2006 – Mike Sexton

The current WSOPE & WSOP main event winners will also get their entry.

2009 WSOP main event winner –  Joe Cada
2009 WSOPE main event winner – Barry Shulman

So far 7 players are confirmed for this years TOC event at Rio Casino in Las Vegas.

Tournament of Champions
Start Date: 27 June 2010
Final Table: 4th July 2010
Venue: Rio
Game Type: No Limit Texas Hold em
Buy-in: Free – Invites only
Prize Pool: $1,000.000

TOC Payout:

  1. $500,000
  2. $250,000
  3. $100,000
  4. $25,000
  5. $25,000
  6. $25,000
  7. $25,000
  8. $25,000
  9. $25,000

WSOP 2010 Freeroll

So far the votes have really started and more than 40,000 votes were received within the first 24 hours of opening. To cast your vote visit one vote per email address help get your poker favorite into this event.

After 40,000 votes the current TOP 50 Tournament of Champions nominees in no particular order.

  • Carlos Mortensen
  • Jennifer Harman
  • Doyle Brunson
  • Tom Mcevoy
  • Erik Seidel
  • David Benyamine
  • Daniel Alaei
  • J.C. Tran
  • T.J. Cloutier
  • Chris Moneymaker
  • Jeff Madsen
  • Annette Obrestad
  • Dan Harrington
  • Freddy Deeb
  • Kenny Tran
  • Prahlad Friedman
  • Peter Eastgate
  • Billy Baxter
  • Barry Greenstein
  • Alexandre Gomes
  • Ted Forrest
  • Jeffrey Lisandro
  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Chris Ferguson
  • Jason Mercier
  • Allen Cunningham
  • Dario Minieri
  • John Juanda
  • Men Nguyen
  • Scotty Nguyen
  • Eli Elezra
  • Greg Raymer
  • Sam Farha
  • Phil Hellmuth
  • Erick Lindgren
  • Phil Ivey
  • Jamie Gold
  • David Sklansky
  • Hoyt Corkins
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • David Williams
  • Johnny Chan
  • Humberto Brenes
  • Joe Hachem
  • Philip Galfond
  • Bobby Baldwin
  • Howard Lederer
  • Amarillo Slim Preston
  • Layne Flack
  • Huck Seed

The World Series of Poker and WSOP are trade marks of Harrah’s License Company LLC. and is in no way affiliated with Harrah’s License Company LLC or the World Series of Poker trademarks or licenses.