Desktop View

Published: 14th October 2016 Written by Poker News
Updated: 10th December 2023

one drop extravaganza monte carlo 2016The One Drop Extravaganza Monte-Carlo 2016 is officially the biggest live poker tournament buy-in in history at a million euro per entry with 10% going to OneDrop charity.

This year the event is not open to poker professionals and exclusively for rich businessmen although they are allow a pro to help coach them at the table.

For instance Guy Laliberté has hired the skills of last years runner-up Daniel Negreanu to coach him throughout the event.

The confirmed line-up has been kept a secret until now, although rumors and appearances of possible players are: Dan Shak, Paul Newey, Talal Shakerchi, Haralabos Voulgaris and Andrew Pantling.

There are also several possible poker coaches seen at  Monte-Carlo today and the list includes: Scott Seiver, Daniel Negreanu, Vanessa Selbst, Liv Boeree, ElkY, Daniel Cates and Tom Marchese.

One Drop Extravaganza Monte-Carlo 2016

Exclusively for invited businessmen the event allows unlimited re-entries on the first day on top of the initial million euro buy-in. Only recreational players who don’t rely on poker as their income are allowed to participate in the One Drop Extravaganza Monte-Carlo 2016.

WSOP tournament director Jack Effel started the days proceeding with the rules and regulations for the tournament

One Drop Extravaganza Players

The list of confirmed players has been somewhat of a secret until the event started and players received their five million starting chips stack. It’s no longer a secret and here’s the list of players in the event. According to reports there were 35 confirmed players for the event but only 26 players had entered with two rebuys on the first day.

The charity poker tournament raised $3,111,108 for the One Drop charity organization with 10% of all buy-ins going towards making water accessible to those without.

Buy-in: €1,000,000
Prize pool: €24,888,892
Entries: 26 players (2x rebuys)
Remaining Players: 2

One Drop Extravaganza Payout Structure

  1. €11,111,111
  2. €5,427,781
  3. €3,000,000
  4. €2,100,000
  5. €1,750,000
  6. €1,500,000

One Drop Extravaganza Chip Counts

  1. Elton Tsang
  2. Anatoly Gurtovoy
  3. Rick Salomon
  4. James Bord
  5. Cary Katz
  6. Andrew Pantling
  7. Brandon Steven
  8. Haralabos Voulgaris
  9. Alfred De Carolis
  10. Jason Strasser
  11. Paul Phua
  12. Sean Dempsey
  13. Talal Shakerchi
  14. Bob Safai
  15. Paul Newey
  16. Pierre Garand
  17. David Einhorn
  18. Dan Shak
  19. Guy Laliberté
  20. Yaqi Sun
  21. Mark Teltscher
  22. Tony Bloom
  23. Patrick Madden
  24. Zuo Wang
  25. Kamer Alyanakyan
  26. Bobby Baldwin

The 2016 One Drop tournament started with 22 players seats on three tables, more players are expected to join the action as the day progresses.